Nursing Week celebration May 10th, 2012

UCSF supporting the many faces of Nursing . . . .2012 National Nurses Week will be celebrated on May 7 – 11, 2012. Nationally, Nurses Day is observed on May 6th, the birthday of Florence Nightingale and founder of modern nursing.

Nurses Week was first celebrated in 1954 to mark the 100th anniversary of Florence Nightingale’s mission to Crimea. In 1974, the week was designated by Presidential Proclamation and in 1982 a joint resolution of the United States Congress designated May 6th as "National Recognition Day for Nurses."

Plans for our annual celebration of National Nurses Week are under way! UCSF nursing continues to recognize and reward nursing staff for the extraordinary efforts they demonstrate on a daily basis throughout all areas of the Medical Center where patient care is delivered.
The annual Nurse’s Awards celebration ceremony will be held on Thursday May 10th from 3-5pm in the Millberry Union Conference center and is open for the public to attend.
A calendar of events for the week is located here [Nurse Week celebration event 2012]

Nurse Week Awards

Over 80 nominations for the 2012 Nurse’s Awards were received, and were reviewed by our Core Nursing Councils in the Shared Decision-making structure. Nineteen nurses have been chosen to receive the awards. All names submitted will be honored, and additionally, the 2011-2012 DAISY award winners will also be recognized during the celebration.

The complete list of Nursing award include:

  • Distinguished Nurse Award
  • Colleague of Nursing Award
  • Service Excellence
  • Excellence in Pediatric Nursing
  • Excellence in Perinatal Nursing
  • Excellence in Medical-Surgical or Orthopedic Nursing
  • Jeanne Yalon Award for Excellence in Oncology Nursing
  • Excellence in Transplant Nursing
  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Mentorship
  • Excellence in Perioperative Nursing
  • Sheila Mann Excellence in Cardiovascular Nursing
  • Clifford K. & Avola Wilson Memorial Award for Excellence in Critical Care Nursing
  • Helen Ripple Award for Excellence in Neuroscience Nursing
  • Excellence in Ambulatory Nursing
  • Excellence in Home Health Nursing
  • Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing-Inpatient
  • Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing-Outpatient
  • Excellence in Patient Safety